QR Codes: Experiment to Create

I’ve always appreciated the conversion rate produced by QR codes but there is also something inherently exciting about using my phone to scan something. Recently I’ve been noticing QR codes everywhere. Honestly, literally turning my head this way and that and spotting codes as if my eyes detected the little brick module and were ready to interact with it. Of course I’ve seen good applications, some interesting uses and others that have left me less than impressed with the attempt to engage without reward or simply not working.  Here are a few recent experiences that perhaps we can all relate to.

How about a QR code on a bunch of bananas? I took a close look at the bananas in my fruit bowl and the QR code sticker led me to ‘Yonanas’ website with recipes for how to use bananas to make soft serve ice cream. A recipe alone won’t do it though, the $50 Yonana maker is the product being advertised and I didn’t have one of those handy so I just ate the banana. Maybe next time?

One experience that I was gleeful about was the popular QR code that was created in conjunction with the popular tulip festival in Mount Vernon, WA. It wasn’t brilliant but an interaction that took a large-format map (unwieldy tri-fold brochure) and allowed me to scan a QR code that then displayed on my phone. Ahh, a familiar site and I could navigate with my thumb on a screen size that told me just enough–not too much like the map that covered the entire region.

After awhile I became intrigued with the how’s and why’s of QR codes and postulated if they were part of the new media advertizing that seems to promote use of real-time engagement and selling opportunities, not merely a blatant opportunity to sell. Unsure of the path ahead, I ventured out to make a QR code of my own and without much reason or process, here’s what I came up with:

Super not useful, right? I did enjoy interacting with www.qrhacker.com to create this little two-dimensional beauty. Two clicks to create and perhaps if I had a reason or purpose, I could approach the interaction design with my own experiences in mind and create an effective use and execution of a QR code.

About Beth Koemans

Master of Communication in Digital Media, University of Washington. Follow on Twitter @SocialBeth.
This entry was posted in MCDM Course Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

